The Library is a magical place where the wonderful world of books comes to life and takes you to places unknown and distant. Such is the location of the Czech Klementinum Library. It is a pinnacle of Baroque architecture and first opened its doors in 1722 as part of the Jesuit University, and holds over 20 000 books in its archives.


It has quickly become a symbol of knowledge and is a massive complex of historic buildings, including an astronomical tower used by 1775 as a meteorological center. There is also a mirrored chapel where classical music concerts are regularly performed to this day.


The history of Clementinum begins with the arrival of the Jesuits in Prague in 1555 who accidentally chose this place. It is located on Charles Bridge and Krizhovniki Square, which were the most remarkable and prestigious parts of the Old Town. The name of the library comes from an old Dominican monastery founded in the 13th century, located near the Roman church "St. Clement. "


The building was given its present appearance only in the seventeenth century, thanks to the architect Carlo Lurago. He not only designed the complex, but also created the impressive facade overlooking the Krzyszowiczka Street and the facade of the church adjacent to the library. El Salvador. " The building is the second largest historic complex in Prague, after Prague Castle.


Entering the very lobby of the library, visitors can enjoy a well-preserved rich catalog of books, manuscripts and photographs of great cultural and historical significance, and just a few steps further into a magnificent world of knowledge and wisdom.

The main hall holds some of the oldest books, including the Roman Gospel, The Code of Visegrad, written in the 11th century on the occasion of the coronation of Bohemia's first Czech king, Vratislav II. The most impressive in the main hall is the ceiling. It features frescoes painted by German artist Jan Hubble and depicts the education and portraits of many Jesuit patrons of the university and representatives of this Order.


The library has retained its unique spirit and unadulterated appearance, thanks to the fact that since its construction nothing of the original elements has been replaced. Here, visitors can see both the rich collection of books and the remarkable collection of Jesuit geographic globes. Also a rich collection of watches designed and handmade by renowned eighteenth-century astronomer and mathematician Jan Klein.

# newsletter

# to travel

In addition to the building, near it is preserved by 1720 and the chapel of the Assumption, also called the "Italian chapel". In the past, it was an attractive religious center of the artistic community in Prague. The chapel itself was built back in 1600 by Italian artisans working on the church itself and is technically owned by the Italian government. Here, visitors can enjoy beautiful marble columns and exquisite murals, with daily concerts of classical music. This is the site of the magnificent St. Clement Baroque Church built between 1711 - 1715 by Cilian Denzenhofer, which is currently a Catholic chapel.

The magical views leave you with that unspoiled beauty you will only find in Prague.


more information:

while traveling

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This